School books pencils apple teaser

The Alabama Department of Education on Friday released its latest list of schools deemed as "failing" under the Alabama Accountability Act, and no schools in the Consolidated Publishing coverage area were on it.

That includes Calhoun, Cleburne, St. Clair and Talladega counties and all of the city school systems in those counties.

[Here's the complete list of "failing" schools.]

The Alabama Accountability Act, passed in 2013, classifies as failing the bottom 6 percent of schools as ranked by their performance on the state's most recent round of standardized tests.

This year's list includes 76 schools in 27 school districts.