White honored

In the picture, Dr. Leah Stover, the executive director of special programs, introduces Pell City High School job coach Joyce White, left, at Tuesday night’s Board of Education meeting. White was recognized for winning the Greater Etowah Governor’s Committee Advocate of the Year award.


PELL CITY -- Pell City High School Job Coach Joyce White was recognized at Tuesday night’s Board of Education meeting after it was announced that she had won the Greater Etowah Governor’s Committee Advocate of the Year award.  

Dr. Leah Stover, the executive director of special programs, said White was selected among all the schools in Etowah, St. Clair and Cherokee counties, for her work with special needs students.

White assists special needs students with finding jobs in the community.

White said it was a privilege and honor to win the award.

“I love giving back,” White told the Pell City School Board. “I love working out in the community with companies. I really enjoy my job… I am so grateful to work with other parents and students.”

She said the local community has been great to help find places for students to work, matching jobs with student desires and abilities.

White will receive the Governor’s Committee Advocate of the Year award at a special awards ceremony in October at the Gadsden Museum of Art.

Greater Etowah Governor’s Committee is an arm of the Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services, which helps find employment for people with disabilities.

In other matters, the Board:

- Approved members of the Calendar Committee. The members are: Wendy Wilson, Christy Minor, Tonya Helms, Richard Garris, Dara Lee, Tammie Williams, Josh Money, Amber Kay, Lisa Pope, Shea White, Rita Brock and Dr. Myrus Strong.

- Approved members of the Policy Committee. The members are: Joel Bowman, James Causey, Kathy Dent, Leslie Hughes, Sunni Wyatt, Laurie Henderson, Dori Rich, Dr. Tony Dowdy, Haley Williams, Jamie Jack, Dr. Cory O’Neal, Dr. Elizabeth Grimes, Jackie Wyche, Sheryl Spivey, Angie Cornutt and Dr. Myrus Strong.

- Accepted the resignation of Williams Intermediate School fifth-grade science teacher Ana Smith, Walter M. Kennedy Elementary School custodian Lakyria Thomas, and Pell City High School sponsor of Skills USA Shelly Kaler, which does not affect her Career Coaching position.   

- Accepted the retirement of Duran North Junior High School Director of New Directions Curtis Gossett.

- Approved to hire Anna Eltz as a kindergarten teacher at Iola Roberts Elementary School.

- Approved to add Christopher Aldridge, April Donahoo, Carol Isdell, April Moore and John Smith to the substitute teachers/child nutrition program workers list.

- Approved to add John Tyler Smith, Ronald Cook, Jayme Anderson and Debra Ann Hawk to the substitute bus drivers list.

- Approved Kim Williams as a system-wide consultant at a rate of $50 an hour.

- Approved a contract with Birmingham Speech and Hearing Associates, LLC at a rate of $65 an hour.

- Approved a contract with Brandi Hathorn as a registered nurse at a rate of $25 per hour.

- Approved the leave of absence for Duran South Junior High School Career Explorations teacher Jeffrey Wilson and Walter M. Kennedy Elementary School fourth-grade teacher Lisa Finerty.

- Approved an additional bus route and driver for the Transportation Department.

- Approved revisions to the report cards policy.

- Approved the 2019 fiscal year budget.

- Approved the expulsion of a Pell City High School student.

- Approved to allow the softball program to pour a concrete slab and install a 12-feet by 20-feet metal storage building. The softball program will pay for the construction project.

- Announced that Homecoming is Sept. 21, and that schools will dismiss classes that day at 1 p.m., in preparation for the Homecoming Parade, which starts at 3 p.m.

- Announced that the next regularly-scheduled board meeting is at 6 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 23.