Dancing with the 'Dega Stars 2017

Jennifer Sims and Zack Dollar kick off Dancing with the Dega Stars 2017. The 2018 edition is set for Saturday.

Tucker Webb/The Daily Home

TALLADEGA -- There is still time to vote in Saturday’s third annual Dancing with the Dega Stars fundraiser.

The night of charitable dancing will take place inside McFarlane Auditorium on the campus of the Alabama School for the Blind (ASB) in Talladega at 6:30 p.m.

Proceeds from the event will be used to fund scholarships and technology grants for visually impaired children across the state.

The fundraiser is sponsored by the Alabama Council of the Blind.

Last year, the event raised more than $21,000.

“These scholarships mean so much to our students and those across the state,” ASB Principal Andy Keith said during a kickoff event last year. “It helps take away some of the financial burden they may face in the future.”

Contestants will be judged in three different scoring categories, including the audience favorite award, the fundraising award and the judges award. The fundraising award is based on online voting. Online voting is ongoing at www.dancingwithdegastars.com with a cost of a $1 per vote.

Anniston City Schools Superintendent Dr. Darren Douthitt and ballroom dancer Belinda Levy were named last year’s champions and took home the shiny mirror ball trophy.

The 2018 star-studded lineup of 11 local couples is as follows:

  • Brian Hutton, aquatic/senior service director for Talladega City Parks and Recreation, and Randi Owens, media account executive for Hometown Parent Magazine;

  • Chad Woodruff, Talladega attorney, and Dr. Mimi Free, physician at Regional Medical Center;

  • Cindy Pennington, deputy revenue commissioner for Talladega County, and Brian York, Talladega County circuit clerk;

  • Dr. Quentin Lee, Childersburg High School principal, and JoJo Moore, owner/director of Jovani, The Dance Factory;

  • Dr. Zack Dollar, Talladega dentist, and Misty McGehee, director of North Talladega County United Way;

  • Jennifer Jackson, teacher at Blount County Learning Center, and J. D. Haun, deputy with the Talladega County Sheriff's Office;

  • Josh Sharpton, career tech director at Alabama School for the Deaf, and Kimberly Myers, owner of Sassy Layne Sweet Shop;

  • Lindsey McKibbon, receptionist for Dr. Zack Dollar, and Zachery Baeza, student at Jacksonville State University;

  • Mario Cirinese, accounting manager at Elbit Systems, and Danielle Chase, Animal Medical Center;

  • Lindsey Moses, owner of LMo & Co., and Shannon Darby, dance coach at Talladega College; and

  • Kayla Lightsey, technology integration specialist at Childersburg Middle School, and Trey Cobb with Talladega Business Machines.

Masters of ceremony for the event will be Chip Moore of Talladega’s First Bank of Alabama and Lacey Dollar. Stephanie Alexander, community relations manager for Honda Manufacturing of Alabama, will serve as one of the judges.

A number of exhibition dances will also be performed.

Sabrina Baeza, owner of Premiere Ballroom in Anniston and Jacksonville, is the choreographer for Dancing with Dega Stars.

Tickets may still be purchased online or at Griffins Jewelers or First Bank of Alabama in Talladega.

Ticket prices are $20 for general admission or $50 for a VIP ticket, which includes an after-event party at the First Bank of Alabama. Sponsorship information is also available online atwww.dancingwithdegastars.com or by contacting Alabama Council of the Blind President Joan Garrett at 256-375-5667.