Voting at Lincoln City Center

Voting at the Lincoln City Center in November 2016.

Elsie Hodnett/The Daily Home

TALLADEGA COUNTY -- Republican candidates Chuck Roberts and Randy Jinks have qualified to run for Talladega County Probate Judge.

According to a Facebook post by Talladega County Republican Party Chairwoman Gina Grant, Roberts and Jinks will join fellow GOP candidates Mark Nelson and Jackie Swinford in the race.

Democratic candidate Vann Caldwell also qualified for the same position.

Grant also informed The Daily Home on Tuesday that incumbent John Ponder has qualified to run for re-election for the District 3 seat on the Talladega County Board of Education.

Previous lists of Talladega County qualifiers published in The Daily Home contained two errors that have been removed from the list below. State Senate District 17 no longer includes any part of the county. Also, the term of Place 2 District Court Judge Ryan Rumsey is not up this year, and he will not be on the ballot.

For contested races, the primary is set for June 5. Runoffs will be July 17, if necessary. The general election will be Nov. 6.

A glimpse at the Talladega County election qualifiers:

Circuit clerk

  • Brian York, Republican

29th Circuit Court judge

  • William Hollingsworth, Republican, Place 2

  • Chad Woodruff, Republican, Place 1

Board of Education

  • Sandra Tuck, Democrat, District 1

  • Joe Duncan, Democrat District 1

  • Robert White, Republican, District 3

  • John Ponder, Republican, District 3

County Commission

  • Tony Haynes, Republican, District 2

  • Malley Limbaugh, Republican, District 4


  • Shaddix Murphy, Democrat

Probate judge

  • Mark Nelson, Republican

  • Jackie Swinford, Republican

  • Chuck Roberts, Republican

  • Randy Jinks, Republican

  • Vann Caldwell, Democrat


  • William “Bill” Coker, Democrat

  • Jimmy Kilgore, Republican

State representative

  • District 32: Barbara Boyd, Democrat; Seyram Selase, Democrat; James Allen Lloyd, Republican

  • District 33: Christopher Brewer, Democrat; Ben Robbins, Republican; Ronald Johnson, Republican

  • District 35: Steve Hurst, Republican

  • District 36: Constance Swindle, Democrat; Randy Wood, Republican

State Senate

  • District 11: Ron Crumpton, Democrat; Jacob Lane, Republican; Jim McClendon, Republican

  • District 12: Del Marsh, Republican; William Stewart, Democrat; James Williams, Democrat; Wayne Willis, Republican

  • District 15: Mark Blackwell, Republican.