You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Pell City School Board approves myriad of personnel matters in final meeting of the school year

Pell City Board of Education 2020-24 teaser

The Pell City Board of Education for 2020-24 was sworn in Tuesday, Nov. 17. The board includes incumbents Joe Sawyer, Cecil Fomby and Laurie Henderson along with newly elected members Greg Crump and Norman Wilder.

PELL CITY — The Pell City Board of Education approved several personnel items during its meeting last week, including contract non-renewals and a host of summer school related items. 

The meeting was the board's last regular meeting before summer break and prioritized contracts for summer school, which has been a priority for Superintendent Dr. James Martin. He said this year's summer school will be expanded to make up for lost instruction due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

During the meeting the board:

 —Approved hiring  Ben Castleberry (agriscience teacher at Pell City High School), Rachel Spates (principal at Williams Intermediate School), Logan Tucker (history teacher at Duran North Junior High School), Brandon Milam (eighth grade science teacher at Duran North), Hilary Hadley (elementary teacher at Coosa Valley Elementary School), Ganae Gaines (assistant principal at PCHS), Kelsie Ramsey (fifth grade teacher at Williams), Belinda Blackstone (special education teacher at Williams), Chris Cruthirds (substitute bus driver) and Jessica Sykes (title 1 paraprofessional at Coosa Valley Elementary);

—Approved contracts with Brandi Hathorn, Kinberly Barber,Monica Haynes, Morgan Brown, Ashley Samoranski, Allison George, Dana Baker and Nicole Linderman as registered nurses and Georgetta Radu as a licensed practical nurse;

—Approved contracts with Del Hufford (summer school drivers education teacher), Terry Isbell (summer school drivers education teacher), Cindy Madaris (school secretary), Haley Williams (administrator), Bobbi Henderson (school secretary), Joy Lee (librarian), Schorette Emerich (librarian), Jill  Abbott (instructional support specialist), Karen David Wright (instructional support specialist), Alesia Barr (bus driver), Daniel Scott Routzahn (bus driver), Christopher Cruthirds (bus driver), Kayla Caceres (bus driver), Connie Hollis (bus driver), Franky Swiney (bus driver), Jacky Maddox (bus driver), Susan Gentry (bus driver), Linda Wilder (bus driver), Darlene  Tucker (bus driver), Belinda Thompson (bus driver), Greg Brewster (bus driver), Susan Gaines (bus driver), James Mike Bynum (bus driver), James Mitchell (bus driver), Allen Rowan (bus driver) and  Frederick (Ted) Bailey (bus driver) for the summer programs;

—Approved contracts with  Beth Freeman, Sunni Wyatt, Christie Thach, Tammy Whitten, Javion Johnson, Danielle Cortez, Kelly Hicks, Landry Pate, Tara White, Andy Jackson, Jamie Hughes, Kasey Gamble, Debra Stephens, Tabitha Surles, Kristen Atwood, Kyrie Word, Renee Santiago, Jessica Brannon, Elanor Garrett, Cheryl Smith, Heather Bowman, Sherry Zollinger, Tonya Helms, Seanna Harris, Andrea Dowell, Pam Johnston, Hannah Lee, Bailey Streetly, Emily Patterson, Hilary Hadley, Madison Anlage and Lisa Funderburg as teachers for the Summer Reading K-3 program;

—Approved contracts with Daniel Harris and Patsy Lee as substitute teachers for the Summer Reading K-3 program;

—Approved contracts with Jennifer Jackson, Brittany Gillison, Daniel  Harris, Kelly Smith, Beth Payne, Elizabeth Benner, Pam Farley, Chasity Boyle to provide instructional/special education services for students participating in the extended school year program and Connie Thomas to provide psychometry services;

—Approved contracts with Christina Henderson and Rea Pugh to provide instructional/special education teaching assistance for students participating in the extended school year program and Beth Payne to provide support for special needs students of the Summer Reading K-3 Program;

—Approved resignations of Carla Callahan (elementary school teacher at Eden Elementary School), Wesley Brooks (teacher at Williams), Alexandria Suggs (pe teacher at Coosa Valley), Grady Griffin (pe teacher at PCHS), Joey Miller (seventh grade history teacher at Duran South), Misty Moore (teacher at Eden);

—Approved retirement of Shirley Skeivelas (special education teacher at Eden), Chrestie Thach (title 1 teacher at Eden), Cassie Brown (child nutrition manager at Williams), Judy Simmons (child nutrition program director at Central Office), Ellen Wilson (bus driver) and Sharon Vandergrift (teacher assistant at Williams);  

—Approved resignations from  supplemental positions Jeffrey Samoranskig (girls varsity soccer coach at PCHS Andrew Tarver (head varsity baseball coach at PCHS) and Joey Miller (girls softball coach);

—Approved contract non-renewals Tammy Lewellyn (custodian), Adrian Verges (custodian), Sharon Gover (bus driver), Loren Howard (teacher at Duran North and Duran South), Thomas Colby Carlisle (teacher at Duran North) Lacie Wideman (special education teacher at Coosa Valley);

—Approved transfer of Morgan Moore (science teacher at Duran South and Duran North to science teacher at Duran South), Kelly Smith (special education teacher at Kennedy Elementary to special education teacher at Eden, Sharron Howard (second grade teacher at Eden to title 1 teacher at Eden), Angela Burrowes (custodian at Eden to custodian at Iola Roberts and Mary Mejia (teacher assistant at Coosa Valley to teacher assistant at Williams Intermediate;

—Approved a Band Trip for the Pell City High school Marching Band of Gold to participate in the Sugar Bowl parade and halftime show for the 2021-2022 school year. All funding will be paid through fundraising;

—Approved a policy revision to remove language about advanced academic endorsements for diplomas;

—Approved additional job descriptions for a contract alternative education program teacher. Contract interventionist, dyslexia specialist, contract while child coach, alternative education program director and instructional coach - mathematics;

—Approved accounts payable for the month of April in the amount of $637,358.48;

—Accepted the first reading of the 2021-2022 Student Code of Conduct; and 

—Approved resolution authorizing the superintendent to proceed with taking necessary steps to give full representation to the Pell City tax district.


Taylor Mitchell, Daily Home reporter covering Pell City.