Voting at Lincoln City Center

Voting at the Lincoln City Center in November 2016.

TALLADEGA COUNTY -- The ballots are set for the 2018 elections in Talladega County. Qualifying for candidates came to an end at 5 p.m. Friday.

A previous list of qualifiers provided by the Alabama secretary of state’s office and printed in Saturday’s Daily Home was incomplete.

The following list includes all Democratic candidates who qualified, per Talladega County Democratic Party Chair Dante Whittaker. Efforts Monday to reach Talladega County GOP Chairwoman Gina Grant to obtain a complete list of Republican qualifiers were unsuccessful.

For contested races, the primary is set for June 5. Runoffs will be July 17, if necessary. The general election will be Nov. 6.

A glimpse at the known qualifiers:

Circuit clerk

  • Brian York, Republican

29th Circuit Court judge

  • William Hollingsworth, Republican, Place 2

  • Chad Woodruff, Republican, Place 1

Board of Education

  • Sandra Tuck, Democrat, District 1

  • Joe Duncan, Democrat District 1

  • Robert White, Republican, District 3

County Commission

  • Tony Haynes, Republican, District 2

  • Malley Limbaugh, Republican, District 4


  • Shaddix Murphy, Democrat

District Court judge

  • Matt Rumsey, Democrat, Place 2

Probate judge

  • Mark Nelson, Republican

  • Jackie Swinford, Republican

  • Vann Caldwell, Democrat


  • William “Bill” Coker, Democrat

  • Jimmy Kilgore, Republican

State representative

  • District 32: Barbara Boyd, Democrat; Seyram Selase, Democrat; James Allen Lloyd, Republican

  • District 33: Christopher Brewer, Democrat; Ben Robbins, Republican; Ronald Johnson, Republican

  • District 35: Steve Hurst, Republican

  • District 36: Constance Swindle, Democrat; Randy Wood, Republican

State Senate

  • District 11: Ron Crumpton, Democrat; Jacob Lane, Republican; Jim McClendon, Republican

  • District 12: Del Marsh, Republican; William Stewart, Democrat; James Williams, Democrat; Wayne Willis, Republican

  • District 15: Mark Blackwell, Republican;

  • District 17: Scott Beason, Republican; Brett King, Republican; Shay Shelnutt, Republican.