The Baseball Writers Association of America released its major awards this week, and all of their choices are reasonable.

The major winners included Houston's Jose Altuve (AL MVP), Miami's Giancarlo Stanton (NL MVP), Cleveland's Corey Kluber (AL Cy Young) and Washington's Max Scherzer (NL Cy Young).

But the way the BBWAA is a problem, and I'm not talking about the winners. Again, they're all reasonable, but under the current format, it's too easy for two or three writers who just don't care for potential candidate to ruin his chances.

For MVP awards, the 30 voters in each league must list 10 players and rank them from one through 10. First-place gets 14 points, followed by 9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 for the rest.

The NL vote was particularly close with Stanton getting 302 points to 300 for runner-up Joey Votto of Cincinnati. Both got 10 first-place votes. Votto got nine second-place votes, while Stanton had 10.

Here's the kicker -- two voters (USA Today's Bob Nightengale and Bleacher Report's Scott Miller) put Votto fifth on their ballots. If one had put Votto second, then he would've won the award. In fairness, both also had Stanton third.

Also in fairness,'s Tracy Ringolsby had Stanton sixth, and Rick Hummel of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch had him fifth. Both voted Votto fourth.

Perhaps a more fair way to do this is have each writer list only five and give the points as 5-4-3-2-1. Maybe that would keep a small group of writers from unknowingly deciding the award.

Sports Editor Mark Edwards: 256-235-3570. On Twitter: @MarkSportsStar.