JSU basketball teaser

Pete Mathews Coliseum on the JSU campus. Photo by Stephen Gross / The Anniston Star.

Jacksonville State's Malcolm Drumwright and Jason Burnell picked up All-Ohio Valley Conference honors Tuesday.

Drumwright was named to the All-OVC second team, while Burnell was placed on the all-newcomer Team.

Drumwright's second-team nod is the second of his career. He received the same honor last season. The point guard led the Gamecocks with 12.9 points a game. He became the school’s No. 2 career scorer in Division I and the leader in games played and games started.

Burnell, a transfer from St. Petersburg College, was one of three Gamecocks to total more than 300 points during the regular season, averaging 11.2 points a game. He has averaged 12.3 points a game with 116 rebounds and 15 blocks against league foes.

The Gamecocks (20-11, 11-7 OVC) enter the Ohio Valley Conference Championships at the Ford Center as the No. 4 seed and are set to play a quarterfinal game Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in Evansville, Ind. The Gamecocks will face the winner of Wednesday’s game between No. 5-seeded Tennessee Tech and No. 8-seeded Southern Illinois-Edwardsville.

Murray State senior guard Jonathan Stark was named the 2017-18 OVC men’s basketball player of the year after leading the Racers to a 16-2 league record and OVC regular season championship. Tennessee State junior Christian Mekowulu was tabbed the OVC defensive player of the year, while Austin Peay's Terry Taylor was named freshman of the year. Austin Peay’s Matt Figger was named OVC coach of the year in his first season on the job.

The awards were voted on by league head coaches and sports information directors.

Stark enters the postseason leading the OVC in scoring (21.7 points a game), a mark that increased to 25.1 points in conference play. He also was fifth in assists with 4.0 a game.

2017-18 All-OVC Men's Basketball Teams and Award Winners

OVC Player of the Year: Jonathan Stark, Murray State

OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Christian Mekowulu, Tennessee State

OVC Freshman of the Year: Terry Taylor, Austin Peay

OVC Coach of the Year: Matt Figger, Austin Peay


Jonathan Stark, Murray State

Dylan Windler, Belmont

Averyl Ugba, Austin Peay

Denzel Mahoney, Southeast Missouri

Terry Taylor, Austin Peay

Amanze Egekeze, Belmont

Nick Mayo, Eastern Kentucky

Terrell Miller, Murray State

Austin Luke, Belmont

Ja Morant, Murray State


Christian Mekowulu, Tennessee State

Curtis Phillips, Jr., Tennessee Tech    

Jalen Henry, SIUE

Malcolm Drumwright, Jacksonville State

Montell Goodwin, Eastern Illinois


Averyl Ugba, Austin Peay

Terry Taylor, Austin Peay

Ja Morant, Murray State

Ledarrius Brewer, Southeast Missouri

Jason Burnell, Jacksonville State

Mack Smith, Eastern Illinois