Jacksonville State clinched a spot in the NCAA tournament with a 4-2 win over Tennessee Tech in the Ohio Valley Conference finals.

The victory marked an unprecedented run by the third-seeded Gamecocks through the OVC field. They lost their opener Wednesday but won six straight elimination games, including Sunday against second-seeded Tech. Nobody had won more than four in tournament history.

The Gamecocks (36-25) also won OVC tournament titles in 2004, 2006 and 2010.

The 64-team 2014 NCAA tournament field will be announced Monday morning at 11 a.m. on ESPNU.

Tennessee Tech (40-19) took a 2-0 lead in the third inning on a Zach Stephens two-run home run, his second of the tournament and 62nd of his career (the most in OVC history).

But for the third time in as many games Jacksonville State rallied from behind for the victory. The Gamecocks scored lone runs in the fifth and sixth innings to tie the game and Ryan Sebra and Andrew Bishop singled home runs in the seventh to put Jax State on top.

From there, it was the Jacksonville State pitching staff, which was collectively named the tournament MVP. Zachary Fowler (7-7) pitched 7 2/3 innings on four days of rest and allowed just five hits and two runs while striking out six.  He gave way to Michael Mason who recorded two outs.Travis Stout came on to record the final two outs and pick up his fourth save of the tournament.

Stout now has 15 saves on the season (tied for third most in OVC history) and 32 for his career (tied for second most).

Pitching on just two days rest, Tech's David Hess allowed just three hits and struck out seven in five innings of work. Seth Lucio (3-3) took the loss, allowing three runs in 1 2/3 innings out of the bullpen.

OVC all-tournament team

Matt Borens, Eastern Illinois
Cole Bieser, Southeast Missouri
Dylan Bosheers, Tennessee Tech
Daniel Miles, Tennessee Tech
David Hess, Tennessee Tech
Tyler Gamble, Jacksonville State
Griff Gordon, Jacksonville State
Paschal Petrongolo, Jacksonville State
Ryan Sebra, Jacksonville State
Michael Bishop, Jacksonville State
Casey Antley, Jacksonville State
Zachary Fowler, Jacksonville State
Travis Stout, Jacksonville State

MVP: Jacksonville State Pitching Staff (Casey Antley, Michael Barber, Zachary Fowler, Michael Mason, Connor Metcalf, Michael McCreless, Graham Officer, Adam Polk, Bradley Raulston, Ryan Sebra, Taylor Shields, Travis Stout)