The Anniston Star

facebook twitter
October 25, 2014

Op-Ed Columns

Phillip Tutor: God, a colonel and his chapel

Some people seek salvation in churches. John Powers has taken that a step further: He’s saved a chapel.

  • icon Posted: October 23

More stories

Wednesday 10/22/2014
Hardy Jackson: You are what you eat
Updated: October 22, 2014 - 5:47 pm

My recent columns on camp stew and eating “eatin’ dirt” drew a number of interesting responses.

Sunday 10/19/2014
H. Brandt Ayers: The mosque next door
Posted: October 19, 2014

As ISIS advanced on Baghdad, the local Imam and a lay leader of the local mosque sat down with the editorial board of our newspaper for an amiable and informative lunch.

Bob Davis: Let's define 'too full of Alabama'
Posted: October 19, 2014

I was just a kid when the remarkable story of the 1954 Cotton Bowl came to my attention. One day while skimming through sportswriter Al Browning’s book, Bowl, Bama, Bowl, I noticed a photo of a strapping Alabama fullback captioned: “Tommy Lewis: ‘Too full of Alabama.’ ”

Thursday 10/16/2014
Phillip Tutor: The funny things about Piney Wood Chapel
Posted: October 16, 2014

The pews are missing from Piney Wood Chapel at McClellan. The curtains no longer drape across the windows. The hymnals are gone, as are the crosses and crucifixes used by Army chaplains and the decorative light fixtures that dangled overhead.

Wednesday 10/15/2014
Hardy Jackson: A cancer survivor's story told again
Posted: October 15, 2014

In the decade or so that I have been a columnist, seldom have I repeated a story. Somehow, when faced with an empty file and no ideas, something always comes up.

Sunday 10/12/2014
Phillip Tutor: Piney Wood Chapel, through an artist's eyes
Posted: October 12, 2014

Gay Arthur has seen Piney Wood Chapel at McClellan only once. She’s never been inside, where wooden floors and overhead beams and windows full of natural light welcome you. But ask her about the place.

H. Brandt Ayers: Celebrities know my name
Posted: October 12, 2014

My email in-box these days is crowded with big-name Democrats who seem to be on a first-name basis with me:

Thursday 10/09/2014
Paul Rilling: Covering the city and RMC
Updated: October 09, 2014 - 6:49 pm

How well has The Star covered the major local news story of September and October so far? That story is the bitter conflict between two of the area’s most important institutions, the city of Anniston and the Northeast Alabama Regional Medical Center.

Wednesday 10/08/2014
Hardy Jackson: Missing National Poetry Day
Posted: October 08, 2014

Yep, I missed it.

Sunday 10/05/2014
H. Brandt Ayers: Agreeing with but not liking Obama
Posted: October 05, 2014

Our family would gather in the library to listen to President Roosevelt’s “Fireside Chats” on Dad’s ancient shortwave radio. To a child in the 1930s and early ’40s, he was a national grandfather; wise, warm and intimate.

Bob Davis: The Star's mission, and its errors, too
Posted: October 05, 2014

The Anniston Star made three significant errors of fact in last week’s coverage of the dispute between the city of Anniston and the Regional Medical Center board.

Thursday 10/02/2014
Phillip Tutor: 'The most beautiful, little chapel' at McClellan
Posted: October 02, 2014

The violets are gone.

Wednesday 10/01/2014
Hardy Jackson: Eating 'eatin' dirt' in the South
Updated: October 01, 2014 - 5:37 pm

Some years ago, Roy Blount Jr., clearly the funniest Southerner writing today — except maybe for Jim Cobb and John Shelton Reed and Rick Perry (you gotta admit, that guy is a hoot) — wrote about being at a fancy New York literary soiree shortly after The New York Times published a story, “Southern Practice of Eating Dirt Shows Signs of Waning.”

Sunday 09/28/2014
Bob Davis: Alabama under the microscope
Posted: September 28, 2014

Alabama, you were under a microscope last week when opinion journalists gathered at Mobile’s Battle House hotel for the 2014 Association of Opinion Journalists symposium.

Thursday 09/25/2014
Op-ed: Alabama students should reach for the sky
Updated: September 25, 2014 - 6:14 pm

Having grown up in Alabama, I’ve been blessed to have many life-long friends, many of whom are now parents of elementary school students. I love sitting with my friends as they tell me about their kid’s accomplishments, especially inside the classroom.

Phillip Tutor: A plea to save Piney Wood Chapel
Updated: September 26, 2014 - 9:49 pm

A message for the McClellan Development Authority: Don’t do the irreversible. Don’t demolish Piney Wood Chapel.

Wednesday 09/24/2014
Hardy Jackson: Recipe for camp stew
Updated: September 24, 2014 - 5:20 pm

My recent commentary on the return of fatty flavoring to the table drew a heartwarming response from a host of lard lovers. For these folks, food invoked pleasant memories not only of the dishes and delicacies, but also of the people who prepared them, the people who ate them and the places where all this took place.

Sunday 09/21/2014
Hardy Jackson: And a legislator shall lead them
Posted: September 21, 2014

Over in Birmingham, some of my favorite columnists have been wondering how it can be that Gov. Robert Bentley is setting such a dismal record on his signature issue, job creation, and yet polled Alabama voters give the governor a 28-point lead over his Democratic challenger.

Phillip Tutor: The saga of Ms. Stidom
Posted: September 21, 2014

In 1917, when Eliza Stidom sent her teenage son off to the Great War, she lived in a small place at 1228 McDaniel Ave. on Anniston’s west side.

Bob Davis: Inside the craft of opinion journalists
Posted: September 21, 2014

At Apple’s grand tech unveiling earlier this month, there was cherry on top to go with all the shiny, new gadgetry. There on the stage in Cupertino, Calif., Apple CEO Tim Cook was joined by members of the rock band U2 for a surprise announcement: U2’s new album was heading straight to everyone with an iTunes account.

Connect with us

Featured Events

Online poll

HOT BLAST: Do you agree with Piedmont's no-pregame-prayers policy for football games? (Take our reader poll.)

After receiving a complaint from the Freedom From Religion Foundation earlier this year, officials from Piedmont City Schools halted the practice of public prayer before home football games. Do you agree with the district's decision?

Total Votes: 305

Loading…