The Anniston Star

facebook twitter
November 26, 2014

George Smith's Columns

Wednesday 11/26/2014
George Smith: You need to visit with Elise Sunday
Posted: November 26, 2014

IN LAST Wednesday’s column, I told you of reading a story from Elise Sanguinetti, who passed away Nov. 16. It was a slice of back-in-time with a woman by the name of “Sadie” talking to “her man,” who was incarcerated on the third floor of the county jail.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, November 26, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 11/19/2014
George Smith: The first time I met Elise ...
Updated: November 19, 2014 - 9:17 am

George Smith's column for Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Wednesday, November 19, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 9:17 am.

more »
Sunday 11/16/2014
George Smith: Winter roses? Maybe on a magazine cover
Posted: November 16, 2014

George Smith's column for Sunday, Nov. 16, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, November 16, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 11/12/2014
John Johnson: opinionated, entertaining
Updated: November 13, 2014 - 11:24 am

WEDNESDAY’S LIST ... of beans ’n greens ’n other things:

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, November 12, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 11:24 am.

more »
Sunday 11/09/2014
George Smith: A 'sermon,' but really it's a 'rant'
Posted: November 09, 2014

George Smith's column for Sunday 9 November 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, November 9, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 11/05/2014
George Smith: Bill Hagler has answer for ‘partly’
Posted: November 05, 2014

IN A RECENT column, I wondered about the difference in “partly cloudy” and “partly sunny.” I got an answer ... from an old friend who was once the star of all things fun on “our” lone TV station, WHMA, Channel 40.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, November 5, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 10/26/2014
George Smith: There is in memory a pony tail
Posted: October 26, 2014

The first time I ever saw her was in Bibb Graves Hall at Jacksonville State. I was fresh married, working in the classified department here at The Star, and taking night classes for a degree I never attained.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Sunday, October 26, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 10/22/2014
George Smith: There are some ‘Jakes’ out there
Posted: October 22, 2014

Old Jake is 86, his wife has been dead 24 years, old Jake suddenly gets married. After a one-day (no night) honeymoon, Jake heads for the jot-em-down store where he and his buddies gather, play checkers, and tell lies.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, October 22, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 10/15/2014
George Smith: This one belongs in a small world
Posted: October 15, 2014

Tommy Ford, a graduate of Gadsden High School a long time ago, is an assistant athletic director at the University of Alabama.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, October 15, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 10/12/2014
George Smith: Yes, we do have bananas
Updated: October 12, 2014 - 8:03 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, Oct. 12, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, October 12, 2014 2:15 am. Updated: 8:03 am.

more »
Wednesday 10/08/2014
George Smith: Rainbow Inn and the Battle House
Posted: October 08, 2014

THE 6 O’CLOCK crowd at the Woodland One Stop is a bit early. They had already packed the two tables (pushed together) where they gather for L&L (lie and laugh) when I walked in at 5:40 Monday morning.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, October 8, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Tuesday 10/07/2014
Watershed Alliance to hold first cleanup of urban Oxford area
Updated: October 07, 2014 - 10:06 pm

The Choccolocco Creek Watershed Alliance on Saturday will hold the first cleanup of the lower part of the creek, which flows alongside Interstate 20 through some of the most developed parts of Oxford.

Posted in News, Local, Columnists, George smith, Star off lead on Tuesday, October 7, 2014 2:06 pm. Updated: 10:06 pm.

more »
Wednesday 10/01/2014
George Smith: The cake was layered in pink ...
Updated: October 01, 2014 - 7:41 am

WEDNESDAY’S LIST ... of beans ’n greens ’n other things:

Posted in Columnists, George smith, Local, News on Wednesday, October 1, 2014 5:30 am. Updated: 7:41 am.

more »
Sunday 09/28/2014
George Smith: Some times are not good times
Posted: September 28, 2014

George Smith's column for Sunday, September 28, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, September 28, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 09/24/2014
George Smith: She did her granddaddy proud ...
Posted: September 24, 2014

George Smith's column for Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2014.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, September 24, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 09/21/2014
George Smith: Days dwindle down to a precious few
Updated: September 21, 2014 - 7:00 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014

Posted in George smith, News, Anniston, Local, Columnists on Sunday, September 21, 2014 1:00 am. Updated: 7:00 am.

more »
Wednesday 09/17/2014
George Smith: Mike Monday swimming way to college ...
Posted: September 17, 2014

WEDNESDAY’S LIST . . . of beans ’n greens ’n other things:

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, September 17, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 09/14/2014
George Smith: Never mess around with a Delilah ...
Updated: September 14, 2014 - 2:11 pm

And she made him sleep upon her knees; and she called for a man, and she caused him to shave off the seven locks of his head; and she began to afflict him, and his strength went from him. – Judges 16:19

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Sunday, September 14, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 2:11 pm.

more »
Wednesday 09/10/2014
George Smith: There’s a big need for coats
Posted: September 10, 2014

SEPTEMBER’S SONG has a few verses to go, but Debbie Young at Smith’s Cleaners (Five Points in Saks) is already at war with December.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, September 10, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 09/07/2014
George Smith: A memory: Mr. Davis 'n suppertime
Updated: September 07, 2014 - 7:14 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, September 7, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, September 7, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 7:14 am.

more »
Wednesday 09/03/2014
George Smith: Of preachers, crock pots ’n a ball peen ...
Posted: September 03, 2014

REV. BOB FORD was my pastor at Blue Mountain Baptist for a number of years. I tell you that to say one of the nice guys reached his 81st birthday Monday, Sept. 1.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, September 3, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 08/31/2014
George Smith: Clairmont Springs ... Old stories in a silent cemetery
Posted: August 31, 2014

George Smith's column for Sunday, August 31, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, Anniston, Local, News on Sunday, August 31, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 08/27/2014
George Smith: There was no quit in Johnny ...
Posted: August 27, 2014

MOST MORNINGS I check the obits, but this past week I missed the passing of Johnny Grubbs . . . and a few memories.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, August 27, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 08/24/2014
George Smith: Hoarding? That's a tough one ...
Updated: August 24, 2014 - 9:59 pm

George Smith's column for Sunday, August 24, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, August 24, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 9:59 pm.

more »
Wednesday 08/20/2014
George Smith: Old country and memories of the Bear
Posted: August 20, 2014

WEDNESDAY’S LIST ... of beans ’n greens ’n other things:

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, August 20, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 08/17/2014
George Smith: Bread for the pigeons at Jack's
Updated: August 17, 2014 - 2:29 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, August 17, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, August 17, 2014 2:20 am. Updated: 2:29 am.

more »
Wednesday 08/13/2014
George Smith: Back home in Sweet Alabama . . .
Posted: August 13, 2014

WEDNESDAY’S LIST . . . of beans ‘n greens ‘n other things:

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 08/10/2014
George Smith: It is Sunday morning in Tarlton...
Posted: August 10, 2014

George Smith's column for Sunday 10 August 2014, in which he describes a visit to a small town in Ohio.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, August 10, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 08/06/2014
George Smith: The verdict was ‘she’s blind as a bat’
Posted: August 06, 2014

In another time a young man, just a kid really, asks a drop-dead blonde to marry him.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, August 6, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Wednesday 07/30/2014
George Smith: Light at the tunnel’s end not a train
Posted: July 30, 2014

THAT LIGHT at the end of the tunnel wasn’t a train. It was the end of a major facelift — from floor up — of a new kitchen for the blonde. It was a project I thought would run out of calendar space, but except for a bit of fine-tuning I can again cook cornbread and field peas with snaps.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, July 30, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 07/27/2014
George Smith: Multitasker? I'm as good as it gets
Updated: July 27, 2014 - 7:52 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, July the 27th, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, July 27, 2014 12:25 am. Updated: 7:52 am.

more »
Wednesday 07/23/2014
George Smith: Hebron celebrating 175 years
Posted: July 23, 2014

OLDEST BAPTIST church in Calhoun County?

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, July 23, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 07/20/2014
George Smith: A porch and eggs in Abanda
Updated: July 20, 2014 - 1:02 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, July 20, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Anniston, Local on Sunday, July 20, 2014 12:46 am. Updated: 1:02 am.

more »
Wednesday 07/16/2014
My farewell party may come first
Updated: July 16, 2014 - 11:52 am

Those lovely trees to your right as you pulled through Mac’s drive through in Lenlock are now just ugly stumps. So what’s going on. Progress friends.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, July 16, 2014 10:34 am. Updated: 11:52 am.

more »
Wednesday 07/09/2014
Social news comes from Pleasant Ridge
Posted: July 09, 2014

George Smith's column for Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, July 9, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 07/06/2014
George Smith: We have our own 'Old Glory'
Updated: July 06, 2014 - 1:14 am

George Smith's column for Sunday, July 6, 2014

Posted in George smith, News, Local on Sunday, July 6, 2014 12:56 am. Updated: 1:14 am.

more »
Wednesday 07/02/2014
George Smith: It’s another good year for pancakes
Posted: July 02, 2014

THE FINAL report on the Kiwanis Club’s annual Pancake Day are in and it was another good year. Held back in March, this one raised $47,736 and will be used to purchase back-to-school supplies for needy kids in our town.

Posted in Columnists, George smith, News, Local on Wednesday, July 2, 2014 4:30 am.

more »
Sunday 06/29/2014
George Smith: A tin cup and pencils for sale ...
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

George Smith's column for Sunday, June 29, 2014

Posted in Columnists, News, Anniston, Local, George smith on Sunday, June 29, 2014 12:41 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Wednesday 06/25/2014
Day dreams can be about night things
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

SHE WAS leaning against the counter with a far-away look in her blue eyes, didn’t really notice me as I walked in.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Wednesday, June 25, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Sunday 06/22/2014
George Smith: ‘King of The Road’ in a blue Dodge
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

WE RODE yellow school buses and stopped in covered bridges and hugged girls. 

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, Star off lead, George smith on Sunday, June 22, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Wednesday 06/18/2014
She’s here ... what else can I say ...
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

SHE’S HERE, she’s healthy, and absolutely the most beautiful baby born in the last 2,014 years. Her name is Ellison Kate Smith and she came in at 8 pounds and 21 inches.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Wednesday, June 18, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Sunday 06/15/2014
John will forever be a ‘finger’
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

It is a time of neighborhood football, a time when beating up on someone you disliked — to put it mildly — was sweeter than wine.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Sunday, June 15, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Wednesday 06/11/2014
Memories of when we were young ...
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

HEARD FROM an old “roomie” of mine this past week.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Wednesday, June 11, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Sunday 06/08/2014
A Maple tree, soft memories, precious time
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

The tree, once a gorgeous maple, is dying. It quit growing a long time ago and is now on life-support by Jesse Barksdale (Mike’s Tree Service).

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Sunday, June 8, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Wednesday 06/04/2014
George Smith: Rocky Hollow is a soft place in my memories
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

George Smith's column for Wednesday, June 4, 2014.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Wednesday, June 4, 2014 4:00 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Sunday 06/01/2014
Easterling: ‘I loved my daddy’
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

The old man’s house has a new roof.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Sunday, June 1, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Wednesday 05/28/2014
George Smith: We’re not politically correct ...
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

George Smith's column for Wednesday, May 28, 2014.

Posted in Columnists, Local, News, George smith on Wednesday, May 28, 2014 4:00 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Sunday 05/25/2014
George Smith: A time for old ‘gyrenes’ to sing . . .
Updated: July 16, 2014 - 9:33 am

It’s 9:41 Friday, May 23, and the lusty if aging voices of  “Jack’s Marine Corps” is about to adjourn.

Posted in Columnists, News, Local, George smith on Sunday, May 25, 2014 4:30 am. Updated: 9:33 am.

more »
Wednesday 05/21/2014
George Smith: The best pastor? It’s Mom
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

Leading the unwashed to salvation runs deep in our family. My maternal grandfather, the Rev. George D. Cobb,  was an old-timey Baptist preacher (not minister ... there’s a difference) who fought infidels, pagans, and agnostics before Jimmy Swaggart was a gleam in his daddy’s eye.

Posted in Columnists, Local, George smith on Wednesday, May 21, 2014 4:00 am. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »
Tuesday 05/06/2014
George Smith: Memories in play for Ohatchee '48
Updated: July 01, 2014 - 3:20 pm

Beans ’n greens ’n other things:

Posted in Columnists, Local, George smith on Tuesday, May 6, 2014 12:32 pm. Updated: 3:20 pm.

more »

Connect with us

Online poll

HOT BLAST: Will Washington work together? (Take our reader survey.)

With the GOP in control of both the U.S. House and Senate and two years left in President Obama's second term will Democrats and Republicans work together?

Total Votes: 158

Loading…